Choroba czy udawanie?

19 września w ciągu dnia zignorowałam komentarze  Tosi a pros kupy Rabarbara. W nocy o godzinie 3.30 ubrałam się i wyszłam z chłopakami na dwór – i nagle panika. Rabi ma biegunkę. Raz już przerabialiśmy, skończyło się na wecie, zastrzykach, antybiotykach itd. Po nocy nie będę dzwonić, zresztą przecież to dopiero początek. Szukam w internecie. FAQ na jakiejś stronie lecznicy weterynaryjnej. Oczyma duszy widzę u małego wszystkie możliwe konsekwencje wszelkich możliwych choróbstw. I przypominam sobie, ze podczas wieczornego karmienia nie zjadł wszystkiego.

I że jest apatyczny. Czyli bardzo chory. Musimy jakoś dotrwać do rana, aby zadzwonić do weterynarza. Opuszczam sypialnię i zalegam w salonie, w stroju bojowym, ubrana, w futerku, tylko kalosze zdejmuję, aby się położyć. Rabi skomle co 20 minut, więc co 20 minut wychodzimy na dwór. Nie chce jeść Smecty, czyli elektrolitów, nie chce pić, na szczęście z dziką radością pożera węgiel. Kolejna, sprawdzana z latarka k…a jest już lepsza, tylko dlaczego taka ciemna? I Eureka!!! Jak zaaplikowałam zwierzeniu węgiel, to nic dziwnego że taki kolor. Ale maleństwo piszczy… Natchniona komentarzami z ozikowego forum, że zabranianie psu spania z człowiekiem to ściema, a maleństwo ewidentnie jest chore, biorę go na klatę. Potwór się uspokaja, ja po lekturze, nie śpię. Jednak bardzo szybko okazuje się, że ciężko chore maleństwo usiłuje pozbawić mnie zapięć mojego okrycia, atakuje kanapę i usiłuje mi zabrać poduszkę – biedronkę. O 7.00 dochodzę do wniosku, że nie ma zagrożenia życia, co najwyżej zagrożenie integralności wszystkiego, co na kanapie się znajduje.

W efekcie paniki, Logan został pozbawiony spaceru rannego 5.00 albo 6.00. A w ciągu dnia biegunka zostaje opanowana, na dodatek Rabi absolutnie nie wygląda na chore zwierzę i maltretuje nianię.

Ale osoby bardziej obeznane z machlojkami tego gatunku, twierdzą, że moje podejrzenia, że Rabi symulował, aby przespać się ze mną na kanapie są paranoiczne.

Noc z piątku na sobotę mija bezboleśnie. Ale w sobotę rano, mimo teoretycznej tylko może zgody ba spacer maleństwa wychodzę jedynie z Loganem.

Przed południem zjawia się ciocia Małgosia i przynosi nową, super pancerną zabawkę. Po raz kolejny okazuje się, że nie do końca…

September 19th, 2013 I ignored Tosia’s comments about Rabarbar’s poos during the day. At 3.30 a.m. I got dressed, and as soon as I let the boys into the garden, I panicked. Rabi had diarrhoea. It had happened once before, and we ended up at the vets who administered some injections and antibiotics to him. My immediate thought was: ‘I will have to call the vet first thing in the morning, it has only just started after all’. I visited the vet’s website and started reading the FAQ… I immediately saw all potential consequences of every possible illness. I recalled he hadn’t finished his dinner that evening and had been apathetic, which meant he must have been very sick…
‘We have to survive until morning to call the vet’ – I thought. I left the bedroom and settled in the living room, fully dressed, still wearing my coat, and I only took off my wellies to lie down on a couch. Rabbi whined every 20 minutes, so I had no choice but to let him out into the garden every 20 minutes. He refused to drink both Smecta mix and water, but eagerly devoured the carbon tablets I gave him. His next poo, closely examined by the light of the torch, seemed much better, but why was it so dark? And then it hit me! No wonder the poo was black if one had applied carbon! In any case, the little one did not cease to squeal… Inspired by the comments found on the Australian Shepherd’s forum condemning people who deprive their beloved pets of sleeping with them in bed, and bearing in mind that Rabi was obviously sick, I laid him on my chest. My little monster found comfort in my arms immediately, but I couldn’t sleep a wink having read all these illness’ descriptions. It soon turned out, however, that this seriously ill puppy was trying to deprive me of my garment fasteners, attacking the couch and attempting to rob me of my pillow – the ladybug… I realised there wasn’t any life risk at about 7 a.m., only a risk to the integrity of everything located on the sofa, at most.

No morning walk for Logan was the side effect of the panic attack during the night. As the day progressed, the diarrhoea problem ceased to exist, Rabi was as good as new, and happily started ‘molesting’ Logan, the nanny.
Dog experts claim that my suspicions regarding Rabi having simulated his illness just to get to sleep with me, are pure nonsense.

Friday night was peaceful, but on Saturday morning, however, I decided against taking Rabi for a walk, despite the vet’s consent.

Auntie Małgosia arrived in the morning and brought an unbreakable super toy. And yes, it turned out to have been a wishful thinking yet again.

IMG_9297 IMG_9298 IMG_9299

Przed 16.00 zakładam zwierzom smyczę i idziemy na lotnisko po Mariano z Argentyny. Po 2 tygodniach aresztu domowego Rabi wychodzi na spacer. Po raz pierwszy na smyczy, i to wspólnej z Loganem. Kompletna klęska. I brak współpracy. Rabi strajkuje więc go noszę. Jak nosiłam 3 kg było zdecydowanie łatwiej. Teraz już ponad 6 kg i brak współpracy. Droga na lotnisko, 10-15 minut zajęła nam 30. I pokazówka przed halą przylotów, mały wyjący potwór. Nikt na szczęście mnie nie oskarżył o znęcenia się nad zwierzęciem. Kiedy w końcu pojawił się Mariano, bezbłędnie nas rozpoznał. W końcu to nie było takie trudne, z taką ujadającą nisko rabarbarowo pienną syreną. Ale za to powrót był dużo lepszy i poza przejściami dla pieszych, na własnych rabarbarowych nóżkach.

Zwierzaki pozwoliły nam na socjalizację i picie piwa tudzież mate. Ale za to czekał mnie kolejny „obciach” na spacerze. Nie lubię wychodzić z Loganem w kagańcu. Także dzisiaj spacerowaliśmy bez namordnika, super, nic nie żarł. Było prawie pusto. Może 3 psy, za każdym razem Logan i usiłujący mu dotrzymać kroku Rabarbar, grzecznie wracał na wołanie, kiedy pojawiły się inne psy.

Do czasu. Przemiła pani, którą poznałam już wcześniej, z 16 letnim pieseczkiem, miała nieszczęście nieść plastikową torebkę ze świeżymi bułeczkami, sztuk około 7 (moja ocena, 4,5 sztuki odebrałam potworom, 1,5 wespół w zespół zdążyły zeżreć, jedną Pani ocaliła. Jestem jej dłużnikiem. Nie miałam portfela, aby od razu uregulować. A po powrocie do domu – aniołki….

I had to pick up Mariano (from Argentina) from the airport, so I took the dogs on a leash and left the house. It was supposed to be Rabi’s first walk after a two week house arrest, and the very first time on a leash as well. It turned out to be a complete disaster as it met with no cooperation, to say the least. He went on strike so I decided to carry him in the end. Carrying a 3 kilo puppy was definitely much easier, but Rabi has gained weight since, and weighs 6 kilos now. The airport is 10-15 minutes’ walk from my house, but this time, it took us over 30 minutes to get there. Rabarbar threw a tantrum outside the arrival gate, and wouldn’t stop crying! My sweet little monster! Luckily, no one accused me of animal abuse… When Mariano finally appeared at the gate, he easily recognized us, as we definitely stood out from the crowd. Rab’s barking sounded like a siren, to say the least. Getting home was much easier. Rab walked on his own four paws, except for the pedestrian crossings along the way.
The dogs weren’t crossed with our socializing and drinking beer and mate. I didn’t expect however, I was just about to encounter another ‘embarrassing’ experience. I hate Logan having to go for a walk wearing his muzzle. Today I also decided not to force it on him, and we did great, if only for a while… There was almost no one around. We might have met three dogs in all, but whenever we spotted one, Logan was immediately on call, next to me, with Rabarbar trying to keep pace with him.

Let the sleeping dogs lie, as they say. The delightful lady walking her 16 year old dog, whom we had met before, carried a plastic bag full of fresh rolls with her. There might have been 7, or so, in the bag. By my account, my ‘starved’ dogs managed to devour one and a half roll on the spot, I managed to rip four and a half out of their throats, and one was saved by the lady herself. I’m indebted to her now… I didn’t have my wallet with me to settle the bill at once…

As you can imagine, I came back home with two angels, innocent of any crimes…

Leave a comment